ForumsQuestionsMultiple Contexts (Possible Workaround?)

Multiple Contexts (Possible Workaround?)
Ablaze

Posted: Apr 03, 2012
Score: 0 Reference
Have there been any updates on the multiple-contexts features?
Unfortunately, this topic is locked:

http://www.toodledo.com/forums/2/4367/0/please-vote-on-this-feature-multiple-contexts-per-task.html

I'm new to Toodledo (and I've only just started reading the GTD book), and I'd like to know how to organize this:

I need to buy something and I could get it both "Store A" and "Store B" - at least I want to look for it there the next time I'm at either store.
It's not important, I just want to make sure I'll remember it when I'm either at "Store A" or "Store B."

I think, being able to assign both contexts would be best here.
How do you guys handle such a thing?

I somehow dislike the concept of tags...

Thanks!
Jake

Toodledo Founder
It is not possible to add multiple contexts right now. This is on our to-do list. In the meantime you will need to use tags is you want to do this,
Ablaze

Thank you for replying so quickly!

The same goes for people I can contact either by email or phone - do people always add two tags "phone" and "email?"
What context would you assign?

What's best practice here?

Thanks! :)
Folke X

I have the impression that most GTDers do not take all the contexts from the book all that literally. It is a lot of work to tag everything with all possibilities. What people do, I think, is define those tags that they actually need in order to be able to filter the list for the more typical real situations in their life.

Errands (or Out or Away or Town or whatever you might call it), is one of those things that the majority seem to have a tag for. It is generally very useful.