ForumsQuestionsTask dependency - still pending after 8 YEARS?!

Task dependency - still pending after 8 YEARS?!
Yugi_oh

Posted: Apr 08, 2016
Score: 2 Reference
Thank you for your great productivity app. The first request of the task dependency (that I found!) dates back to march 2008. I mean ... come on! it's been 8 years. How hard could it be? I am a intermediate-level developer and I can't imagine such feature taking 8 year to be implemented even if it's on lowest priority, which shouldn't be due to many requests during this 8 years. I have switched from MyLifeOrganized (MLO) to toodledo and I am really suffering from lack of this feature. Could you reveal the estimated date of this feature? I know it's on your policy not to... but I don't seek a exact day, but in order of "year". If it's going to be implemented in 2025, I think users should know as many of them are waiting for it.
Purveyor

Score: -1 Reference
Just curious: Given that MLO has task dependency and you are "really suffering from lack of this feature", why did you switch to Toodledo?

Also, if Toodledo promised you that task dependency would be available in two years, how would that change what you are doing now?

In any case, I doubt that you're going to get a timeline commitment from Toodledo.
Task dependency is not available and all you can do is structure your task management with this limitation.
Salgud

Score: 1 Reference
I suspect this feature is a quagmire. If you create the capability for dependencies, how far do you take it? Do you include all four types (SF, FF, FS, SS)? They would probably start with a simple FS (Finish to Start), the most common, but very quickly people would be clamoring for more. Then they'd want lead and lag times...

Will tasks be limited to a single predecessor or successor?

This can easily get complicated. Not saying it can't be done, or that I wouldn't welcome even a simple version, just that from a developer's view, this can get messy.
Yugi_oh