ForumsQuestionsJuggling Home and Work

Juggling Home and Work
DJ

Posted: Jun 25, 2008
Score: 0 Reference
Newbie here...

I've added many items for home and categorized them using folders. I started adding items for work and was suddenly overwhelmed by the intermingling of it all. I have contexts for Home and Work, but if I change the view from main to folders after filtering for a context, I see everything again! I'm thinking about creating another account to keep home and work separate, but first I thought I'd ask for suggestions on how others manage all their personal items along with their business items. When I am at work, I don't want to be distracted by all the thing I need to do at home and visa versa. Any feedback or suggestions will be appreciated.

DJ

P. S. I'm using the free account, if that makes a difference.
mesposito2

Posted: Jun 25, 2008
This doesn't really answer your question, but it may be useful to someone.

First, for me, priorities don't have that much meaning due to the way I work. I prioritize during the planning stage by setting the due date. I try to do everything that is due today, and what doesn't get done I move to the next day if possible. Even if I have 10 items in one of my pools, it's not that difficult to decide which one to work on.

My Priority designation for Today items
-----------------------------------------
TOP - Morning Pre-Work Tasks
High - Today's Work tasks
Medium or lower - Evening Home tasks

This way I see a split during the day. I can handle the 3 pools of tasks during each time slot.

ME
DJ

Posted: Jun 27, 2008
Thank you ME. One of my favorite things about Toodledo is how versatile and flexible it is. It allows people to manage data the way they see data which is GREAT!

Anyone else?

-- DJ
Capt'n Bob

Posted: Jul 06, 2008
How about using Tags?

Capt'n
jwelshjr

Posted: Jul 07, 2008