ForumsQuestionsNewbie needs help on organizational approach to toodledo

Newbie needs help on organizational approach to toodledo
cashreg

Posted: Nov 27, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
I'm a GTD and toodledo newbie. I'm the guy that David talks about who has captured everything on lists, but don't have them organized, so they don't get acted upon.

So, I'm trying to figure out how to set things up in Toodledo.

The thing that most baffles my thought process is projects. The way I think about projects is best shown by example:

My project is to write an inventory system. Some of the major tasks would be:
- Interview Users
- Design System
- Build System
- Test System
- Implement System

But each of these has sub-tasks. For example, for the task Design System:
- Layout dataflow
- Design GUI
- Determine datastructures
And then each of these has subtasks. For example, take Design GUI:
- Determine Major Windows
- Determine Common Windows
- Determine Common Fields
And then each of these has it's own subtasks. For example, take Determine Major Windows:
- Determine Input Fields needed
- Determine Display fields needed
- Determine which common fields need to be used
- Layout the position of the fields
- Layout the order

etc., etc., etc.

And on top of that, I need to figure out some folders for myself. So what kind of folder would I find this in? Career? Work? ABC Corp? Inventory Project?

And this is just one project amongst all the things to do. Can someone point me to some reading material which will help guide me on setting things up from a structure/thinking process to make GTD work for me?
TheGriff_2

Posted: Dec 04, 2009
So it seems you have everyone stumped! Sorry to see no one has replied.

In my opinion you are nesting things too deeply...making the whole process more complicated than it needs to be. You are thinking in terms of an MS Project style project plan where things can go 20 levels deep. GTD really seeks to simplify things, not make them more complicated.