ForumsQuestionsHow to Type in a new Hierarchical Project (feature request?)

How to Type in a new Hierarchical Project (feature request?)
jpv2112-s

Posted: Jun 09, 2010
Score: 1 Reference
Hello,

I've been a pro user for a while now (and a GTD user). When planning a new project, I usually start with the result and then write all the tasks that are necessary to complete the end-goal. Then all those tasks get sub-tasks, which beget further sub-tasks, etc.

This makes for a basic outline format of project planning that I believe is widely used (e.g., MS project and other goal-setting systems).

Example:

Ultimate Project Outcome
---Contributory Task 1
------SubTask 1.1 (to complete cont. task 1)
------SubTask 1.2 (to complete cont. task 1)
---------subtask 1.2.1
---------subtask 1.2.2
---------subtask 1.2.3
------SubTask 1.3
---Contributory Task 2
------SubTask 2.1
---Contributory Task 3
---Contributory Task 4
---etc.

However, I don't see an easy way to type in such a hierarchical project plan using Toodledo. Currently Toodledo has 3 tiers of goals (lifelong, long term, short term) and only one level of sub-tasks.

Also, the "add multiple tasks" page doesn't allow sub-tasks to be generated.

Does anyone know how to "hack" this method in to the current Toodledo framework?

If not, I would like to see a page that allows users to type in a project hierarchy/outline and then assign the existing parameters to each task (context, time, due date, etc.). This would require more than one level of subtasks, so perhaps it would take some development time given the existing code.

I think this option would help graduate Toodledo from a full-featured task manager to a project-planning tool.

thanks,

JP
deekod

Posted: Jun 10, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
Here's an example of my project planning using TD - this is a cut and paste from a master task note (status set to planning):

*PURPOSE*
--------------------------------------------------------------------