ForumsQuestionsTasks or Folders for Projects?

Tasks or Folders for Projects?
Jeff

Posted: Jul 12, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
Hi, I'm new to Toodledo and am just now going to set up a new Pro account. Based on my research, I realize the following question has been asked before but I couldn't find a definitive answer.

We are a small contruction company. Therefore we have multiple and ongoing "projects". Even when the project is completed, we still need to access it for follow up tasks or service calls down the road.

So intuitively, I would set up Toodledo to have each home or Project be a Folder and assign Tasks and Subtasks to it up until project completion and afterward. However, after reading and researching Toodledo, most people recommend to use Folders for very broad topics, Tasks for Projects and Subtasks for the Project's tasks and I still can't tell exactly why one would prefer this. Many of our project tasks have subtasks in themselves and it seems we would lose this functionality. We need Projects (around 100 of them), Tasks and Subtasks of those tasks to most directly match what we do.

Can anyone comment on why using Tasks for Projects instead of Folders is the seemingly preferred method for most users? Any recommendations for our situation? Will we be in bad shape if we just stick to the Folder/Task/Subtask formula to organize each job?

Thanks a lot!
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Jul 12, 2010
Toodledo is flexible enough to work in lots of different ways. Based on our experience, most people use Folders for projects. But a lot of people do it the other way that you are describing. It is a personal preference. You should experiment and use the way that works best for you. I am sure that you'll get some opinions after me that explain the benefits of using both methods.
Dave

Posted: Jul 13, 2010
@Jeff I use Proximo's setup and it is excellent for my needs. Maybe it will work for you http://www.toodledo.com/forums/5/2660/0/proximos-gtd-setup.html
slsgtd