ForumsQuestionsNotebook

Notebook
greginfla_

Posted: Nov 28, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
I am new to toodledo (found it a few hours ago) and have a question about the notebook features. I searched the forum and it appears the latest updates were May 09, so if I have missed updated info I apologize.

Is there a way to track the progression of completing a task/project? In notebook you can write your notes and update this one entry over the course of completing the task, but is there a way to have new entries each time you update the notebook; stamped with date/Time/Author (if collaborating). And it would be great if you could get an email detailing the updates to shared task. Frequency of updates would be user preference: once a day, every task update, 3 times a day, etc.

Is this avaiable in at the pro level?
piyush_soni

No. What you want is a Source Control system. Use SVN/CVS/Perforce/Git/Mercurial etc. for managing your time stamped files.
greginfla_

Score: 1 Reference
thanks for the reply. but this stuff looks way above what I need or understand. Google Wave is sort of working for me but who knows when that site is going to be taken down.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Nov 29, 2010
What you are suggesting is not available, but it is an interesting idea. We'll think about it.
piyush_soni

There is at least one problem I noticed with your current implementation of notes. I keep the tasks webpage open in office and at home. I had been writing a few paragraphs of notes over time for one of my tasks. When I made some changes in a few points at home, it updated the notes and worked fine. I came to office, and made few changes again. What I noticed two days later that the copy open in office was stale and the changes I did had actually overwritten the new changes I had done at home! This could be really dangerous.

We should use one of the three solutions/workarounds :