ForumsTips & TricksJP's Task Management Process with Toodledo - Part 4: Data Entry

JP's Task Management Process with Toodledo - Part 4: Data Entry
johnprince2112

Posted: Oct 16, 2015
Score: 1 Reference
Full disclosure I am no expert with Toodledo or Productivity Mgt Systems/Processes. I'm a long time consumer. It's amazing how much the Productivity tools themselves have driven processes, and as someone who has watched this discipline grow for 20+ years, the bars on both have been raised and met time and again

In my previous post (Part 2) I noted how imperative views are to me. However, to get views I want, I must use a system. Consequently, I divide my intents in to two areas:
1. I need to quickly enter information.
2. I need to quickly obtain that information in a cubed format on demand.

Thus the schema in which I enter it is different than how I view it, However, my requirement for both is that I only have to make one selection to do either (other than accessing the application). This means I begin my views at the top level, and drill in to each property.

DATA ENTRY
--The highest level for me is based on fewest instances. So...Contexts, I only have 7 of those. I've found they work best by covering what I "do" during the day Send emails, schedule meetings, strategy and articulate said strategies in a 360 fashion, etc.

--I essentially create three objects "do", "about" "with whom". Status types, Priority, etc are attributes to these objects.

--I defined a the 'stuff' I do for 10 days. My goal was to come up with a streamlined approach for data entry by finding the common "DO". "ABOUT" AND "WITH WHOM" classes.

Examples
1. Remind me to get with Carlton about our next OS upgrade event.
2. I have a great idea for a groovy dashboard to display during the deployment.

I then matrix ed the classes as such:
DO (Contexts): These are items such as send email, talk to, log ideas, inquire about, schedule meetings, etc