ForumsTime ManagementMark Forster's Autofocus

Mark Forster's Autofocus
mike_de_bruyn

Posted: Feb 08, 2010
Score: -1 Reference
The main difference between GtD and any version of AutoFocus (including DWM) is that with GtD you do your planning up front and then execute the plan throughout your day. With AutoFocus, you simply dump everything into it and use your intuition to decide what to do when. Very different philosophies which appeal to different mind sets.

I am just learning Toodledo and accessing it from the iPhone via Personal Informant. My question is how I can use it with DWM, yet another version of Mark Forster's time management system. You can read about it here:

http://www.markforster.net/blog/

(You'll have to go down a few items, I just could not get the link to insert correctly. Sorry.)

The basic idea is that you enter new tasks a month from today but work on them any time you like. If you don't complete a task, you RE-enter it a week from today. Any tasks remaining undone on today's page are discarded.

It seems as if it is simply a matter of setting the default due date to 30 days and manually changing the date on incomplete tasks to a week from today.

A simple sort by due date should show all tasks which can be done, in order by the time they will expire.

Do I have that about right?

Is there any compelling reason to get the iPhone Toodledo App, or will PI on the iPhone give me what I need? (If anyone is familiar with PI, that is ;-)

Thanks for any input. I've gotten a lot of good reports about Toodledo and will use it for this purpose if I can. I also plan to add the normal kind of calendar/task events that are used in "normal" time management systems. (Birthdays, renew driver's license, etc.) I'll distinguish those with a tag, or a star or something. I've not decided yet.

This message was edited Feb 08, 2010.
jml575

Posted: Feb 11, 2010
Score: 1 Reference
Hi MIke,

NIce to see someone else from the AF forum over here!