ForumsTime ManagementPomodoro Technique (aka Tomato Technique) Productive Focusing

Pomodoro Technique (aka Tomato Technique) Productive Focusing
Quang

Posted: Dec 13, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
Anyone heard of the Pomodoro Technique?

http://www.pomodorotechnique.com/

It's great, I've been using it the last couple weeks, basically it involves estimating your time & working in 25 minute blocks with a kitchen timer.

There's a detailed review of it, on the Wall Street Journal
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704538404574541590534797908.html

Anyone else heard of it or uses it, time boxing / time blocking or something similar with Toodledo?

I'm new to toodledo, love all the customization and options to sort tasks. (Digg that it even has a built in timer!)

This message was edited Dec 13, 2009.
Vin Thomas

Posted: Dec 13, 2009
Score: 1 Reference
I have been using Pomodoro Technique for a couple months. It's great. I use an app called focus booster to track my time. Or if I'm on my Mac there is a great app called Chimoo Timer that allows me to set customized intervals instead of having to stick to 25 mins.

Great tip!
foley.mark

Posted: Dec 29, 2009
Score: -1 Reference
A windows app called 'TimeLeft' is great for timeboxing too. I looked at many dedicated timeboxing apps but it was simple and did the trick. There's a free one and you pay if you want multiple timers of a given type. www.nestersoft.com (I'm not associated with them)
Quang

Posted: Jan 09, 2010
Score: 1 Reference
Hey foley.mark,

It's funny you mentioned TimeLeft! I actually LOVE this program. (Bought the full version + extra skins)

Currently I have 4 timers.

2hours
1.5 hour
1 hour
30 mins...

When I start a "Pomodoro Set" I start all 4 timers. (Each Pomodoro Set is 25mins) So I try to do 4 pomodoros in a set.

I've been crazy productive lately. Also I use ToodleDo's Timers to keep daily track of how much time/pomodoro I did during the day.