ForumsGetting Things Done®Is 1 Projects folder enough? And arent actions part of projects?

Is 1 Projects folder enough? And arent actions part of projects?
Damian_S

Posted: Jun 12, 2011
Score: 0 Reference
Hello all,

I'm new to Toodledo, but have used various GTD systems.

I'm interested in Proximo's setup as it seems to get the most discussion, so there must be a decent foundation there.

My questions are:
1) Is 1 projects folder enough? In my previous GTD attempts, I have ended up with hundreds of projects (300-500). This has been un-manageable with other systems as a weekly review becomes such a huge task that it gets ignored and then the whole system suffers. I'm hoping that listing projects by priority will help, but there's still a lot there. Maybe I should have an 'Active Projects', a 'Nest in line Projects' and 'Someday' etc. Would that be a good idea?

2) My next question is about the actions folder. Doesn't putting an action from a project (which if I'm right is just a sub-task to a task) into a different folder confuse things? Or are all actions from all projects inside of this actions folder? So are the projects (top level tasks) all in projects and the actions (sub-tasks) all in actions? Doesn't this loose the ability to look at a project and see all of it's sub-tasks (actions) because they are in a different place, or is there still a way to do that?

Hoe that all makes sense.

Thanks
Damian
joseimora

Posted: Jun 13, 2011
Score: 1 Reference
I've found the same issue - that I did not want to move items from their home folder due to their level of activity. I've found a few work-arounds using contexts and status.

However, my use of context is a bit different from GTD. Since most of my work is out of a "nomadic" office (e.g. road warrior), I can basically do anything from anywhere, so the location-based contexts aren't as meaningful to me (plus, there are after all LOCATIONS for that purpose).

José's Context List: