ForumsGetting Things Done®Hiding from Work!

Hiding from Work!
jay

Posted: Aug 20, 2011
Score: 1 Reference
I'm not sure if this is a question about GTD or a question of how to map GTD to TD. Quick background…

I've been using GTD for a couple years and have found it extremely valuable. My own GTD / TD system relies primarily on:

* Folders - categories of tasks like Work, Family, Household, Finances, etc.
* Context - the essential attribute, IMHO -- limits my view of tasks to where, when, or with whom I can get them done
* Due Dates - also essential (sometimes) as deadlines do exist
* Priority - I'm not strict about this one as it can change based on external circumstances and passage of time. I do use Top or High to flag items that are or are approaching critical though.

I don't use:
* Status - For a while I used "Waiting" to indicate delegated or external follow ups. But now I just put that into a Context "Agenda" with a subject like "Tom: install fiber". Next time I see Tom I can quickly filter (by Context = Agenda, Search = "Tom:") all of the items I'm waiting on Tom for. And as I'm using Due Date and a little bit of Priority, I can choose to contact Tom to expedite as necessary.
* Star - Seems a duplicate of priority to me
* Tag - starting to rethink this one, see below.

Finally, many of my tasks stem from emails. (Not using my email Inbox as a task manager is one of the most important insights I gained from GTD!) I frequently forward emails setting the @Context, *Folder, #Due fields. The speed of dispatching actions and waitings from email to the "external system" is probably my most loved aspect about TD.