ForumsGetting Things Done®Projects: do you use "Folders" or "Goals" for projects?

Projects: do you use "Folders" or "Goals" for projects?
myriade

Posted: Dec 11, 2011
Score: 1 Reference
Hi

I'm completely new to Toodledo, but not to GTD. I want to set up my GTD system today, but I'm not sure whether to use "Folders" or "Goals" for my projects.

Which of the two do *you* use for your projects? : )
PHH

Score: 0 Reference
Hi

I used to use folders for projects, but I have switched to goals. Pro : you can have some hierarchy (shrter term goals can depend on longer terms goals), allowing to build "super rojects". Con : so far, no way to manually arrange the list of goals as can be done for folders (only alphabetical order is allowed for goals in the left bar).

Hope it will help...
Folke X

I use Goals.
myriade

Posted: Dec 17, 2011
@ PHH and Folke X

Do you think that the majority here uses "Goals" for projects?
Folke X

No idea. Sorry. But I have got the impression that many use tasks and subtasks - tasks then being the "project".
PHH

Score: -1 Reference
No idea either.

I use tasks and subtasks as described by Folke X, which is probably the main driver to subscribe to pro accounts. I have seen some posts about using goals in the same way as I describe ("super projects", or collection of tasks+subtasks). Many of them also discuss of workarounds to sort the goals (using A,B,C or 1,2,3 prefixes for instance).
myriade

Oh, I see.

@PHH, so you got a Pro Account and changed from Goals to Tasks/Subtasks in the last couple of days?
PHH

No. I have been using TD for several months now (Pro Account).

TD is very flexible, and I have experimented several ways to implement a GTD-like system. My current setup uses tasks/subtasks and goals.