ForumsGetting Things Done®Do you get payoff from having virtually all open loops in TD?

Do you get payoff from having virtually all open loops in TD?
lite1

Posted: Jun 02, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
I'm new to GTD and only been using TD for < month. Still have not done the complete brain dump of all my loose ends into TD; putting some of them in TD seems slightly "insane" however they "qualify" as they'd take more than 2 to 5 minutes to complete. For those who have nearly all their open loops in TD, do you really experience "mind like water"?

Personally I get that from my daily meditation and as I carry that quality into my daily life I can maintain it. TD and GTD might be good principles and tools, yet I have some doubts and will adapt to my own needs/preferences. When I first read GTD I became hyper aware for at least a week of all the open loops in my life (that previously had not really caused much stress or concern). I have started to add these (and review my lists) AND more importantly have tamed the voice that says "Oh, you should put that in TD and get it off your mind" so that I can pause and immediately know if there is really some pay off in doing so right now, or whether it can wait for doing a larger brain dump later in the day or even tomorrow.

I think I understand the idea of having a trusted system, but it seems that the trusted system can include not tracking all things in TD (or on paper)as long as you have a clear set of inner guidelines for what goes in, and what uses the fairly tried and true memory approaches I have used all my life.

So would appreciate any insights and exp. sharing of those who have worked with the GTD principles longer than I have. I guess you might say that I am keeping my eye on the goal, and noticing when what seems like micro-managing my life adds stress rather than adds to an enriched life.

Edward