ForumsGetting Things Done®35 Contexts and 170 (Active) Projects

35 Contexts and 170 (Active) Projects
dave

Posted: Sep 22, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
I'm liking absolutely everything about Toddledo except for the interface to folders and contexts. I am a traveling consultant, and have (require) contexts for every client site, plus all the standard contexts (Phone, Computer, Home, etc). There just isn't enough room in a tab bar at the top of the window to control these.

My projects are 5 times as bad.

Unfortunately, subtasks do not present a solution as, in my methodology, projects do not (can not) have a context. Folders are the nearest equivalent, but I am once again limited by the screen real estate set aside for the tab bar.

I would kill for the ability to run a vertical folder (or context) list on the left or right of the main screen. The firefox add-on gets *closer*, but I can't see the projects and the actions at the same time.

Anyone have any ideas? OmniFocus is being really funky and slow for me, and I'd love to scrap it.

This message was edited Sep 22, 2009.
Anders

I'm not sure I understand why parent tasks as projects wouldn't work for you. You could just leave the Context Field blank, and some people use a Context of Project to separate parent tasks. Anyway, that is a bit beside the point. There is a userstyle that another Toodledoer created for just this purpose. It might work well for you: http://www.toodledo.com/forums/3/2754/0/tabs-as-a-list.html.
Another thing you can do would be to use the Firefox Bookmark sidebar, and create a list of Bookmarks to your Different Folders and Contexts, then if you keep the sidebar open, it would effectively do the same thing.
dave