ForumsGetting Things Done®Toodledo on iPhone: Like it, but lacking

Toodledo on iPhone: Like it, but lacking
Proximo

Posted: Nov 09, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
I have been using my iPhone and Toodledo for at least a week now and here are my thoughts.

First Impression: Love it. I think this is true for anything I am doing on my iPhone because I am still fairly new to the experience of having one.

Impressions after a week: Lacking. Once I got done with the excitement of having my iPhone and spending many hours downloading and testing apps. I finally realize that the Toodledo App. is lacking in many areas.

I won't mention them here because this is mentioned all over the forums in many sections.

I will say that not having the ability to see Sub-task that have a Star in my "Star View" in the main screen has caused me some serious issues. In fact, I failed to meet a deadline on something important because I relied on the information from the iPhone app. not realizing that Starred Sub-task don't show up in the Star view.

I must find a Project, Drill down into it, click on the sub-task button to see if any have Starts.

The complexity and the number of clicks required to do many things in the iPhone app. are also disappointing.

Too much side scrolling to get to things and then side scroll back. Having sub-task hidden inside so deep is not good.

Anyway. I will continue to monitor what features are being improved on the iPhone app. but I will have a hard time trusting it until it can do everything the site does.
ProfAndyCarp

One way to deal with the sub task limitation is to change the way you document projects: instead of using subtasks to capture the various depth of a project, use a single task or that with the title of the task indicating the current step and the note documenting future and completed steps.