ForumsGetting Things Done®May jump ship to Omnifocus for better GTD

May jump ship to Omnifocus for better GTD
Joshua

Posted: Jan 08, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
I've been using Toodledo (Pro) for over a year now and really have liked it, but I think I am outgrowing its current abilities. Plus my former dual life as a PC (at work) and Mac (at home) has changed and I am using Mac at both. Lastly, I really need a system which handles project/next action management in a stronger manner. I've used subtasks and appreciate the better control Toodledo has added there, but it seems Omnifocus handles these better. I have been using a variation of Proximo's GTD setup for about the last six months.

Anybody want to suggest why I shouldn't move from Toodledo to Omnifocus? Anyone have experience with it? I know it has some weaknesses, but for me at this point I need further control, better project/next action management, and easier to use UI to manage my growing tasklist. And as David Allen notes, if you don't trust your or can't easily input data into your system it is not going to work for you.

If I do move off Toodledo I will still support it and suggest it to friends needing a good online task manager, but maybe it is not for me anymore. =(

Thanks for any input.

--Joshua

This message was edited Jan 09, 2010.
mco

Posted: Jan 09, 2010
I think whether you would be happier with OmniFocus than Toodledo depends strongly on the nature of your work and how you prefer to go about it. I have tried many times to use Omnifocus (I have both the mac and iphone version) and have reverted back to Toodledo each time. OF's strengths are also its weaknesses: