ForumsGetting Things Done®The Peter Question: Folders vs Status

The Peter Question: Folders vs Status
greginfla_

Posted: Dec 30, 2010
Score: 2 Reference
as I have mention before I am relatively new to GTD and toodledo.

I have read Peter's outline on how he uses folders instead on using the status field.

Peter can you give more insight as to why you find it easier to use folders instead of the status field. I know each person process can be different, but I would like to know the logic of more veteran users, since I am still working on my GTD system.

I have created a project folder. I think I like it. I have set the parent task with a high priory so that the parent is bold and the subtask are not; the project visual stands out better.

You only have one project folder correct? you don't create a project folder for each project.

Do you have a folder for waiting, active, hold,etc?

I started to create those folders but then I thought I would create a non-project folder and enter all the things I need to do and want to do in now and in the future and use status to indicate their status.

Is the reason you created folders for each of the status levels is because using the folder method you can see/plan for these items better?
PeterW 

Posted: Dec 31, 2010
Score: -1 Reference
There are a few Peters on the forum but I am guessing this question is for me?

I will get started on a response today.
greginfla_

Posted: Dec 31, 2010
Score: 1 Reference
you are the Peter i was referring to. PeterW AKA Mr Folders. (G)
PeterW 

Posted: Jan 02, 2011
Score: 2 Reference
OK, here is my response...

Toodledo provides a lot of fields and features, and the temptation is to use them all. I started out using most of the available fields but it resulted in a complex task management system that required a lot of effort to maintain. It often seemed a chore to keep Toodledo up-to-date with where I was at in my daily workflow.