ForumsSearch

Search results for "Posted by "
sven

Posted Jul 11, 2008 in: Change the name "Toodledo"
Score: 0
  • sven
  • Posted: Jul 11, 2008
  • Score: 0
I think you'll do well because the program works well, and it seems to be constantly improving. But I think that's in spite of the name. You're program is much more sophisticated than it sounds (and the name is definitely better than "remember the milk")

(I've got some background in branding and marketing, so just trying to help... I'll still strongly recommend you to friends)

Yahoo! and Flickr have different audiences, different 'personas'. They were (when they started) trying to convey "new", "different", "unique", "fun" ("The Internet is new and fun, come join us!", "Posting your photos online is new and fun!", etc.)

You're not necessarily trying to do that. Let me put it this way - would your parents buy a car called a "Yowza!", or would you go to a hospital called "Woot!"?

One way of thinking about these things is in terms of archtypes: Are you the 'wise sage'? The 'jester'? Something else? What images do you want people to have when they first hear your company name?

Your company is all about: time management, reliability, efficiency, productivity, technology. You're not necessarily trying to appeal to 'new', 'different', 'fun'. Sure, early adopters will go with it, but if you want an IT manager to buy 50 licenses, you need to appeal to those other, more stable archetypes.

I actually stumbled across you guys from a review that described you as "In a Nutshell: The silliest name, but the most powerful features."

http://justanotheriphoneblog.com/wordpress/2007/09/22/iphone-to-do-list-applications-some-good-choic es/

Just something to think about. If I think of a good name with available URL, I'll pass it along. Maybe other people have suggestions too...
sven

Posted Jul 11, 2008 in: Managing A Team
  • sven
Ah! That did it, thanks.