ForumsSearch

Search results for "Posted by gwendolynrose"
gwendolynrose

Posted Jun 01, 2009 in: When do you define "next action #2"?
Score: 0
Thanks, Big KC and TheGriff, for the great information.

Like Big KC, I keep any "not yet a next action" tasks without a context (but put them in a project folder) to capture them. That way, they are not prematurely on my Context list (which is what I work off of during the day). However, I must admit that I neglect the brainstorming phase, which will probably address my question.

TheGriff -- Since I am fairly new to GTD, too, I understand wanting to skim the project list daily. I do that, too. I have noticed that the more I learn to trust the GTD system, the more I can trust that I am not missing anything. At first, I felt like I needed to review everything daily, just because I did not have my system fine-turned yet. Now that I know I have a good, dependable system, I will do a "quick scan" just to give my added peace of mind....but I know I will be ok if I don't.

Thanks, again!
gwendolynrose

Posted May 31, 2009 in: Daily Processing
Score: 2
I've found that it is essential to keep the "Processing" and "Weekly Review" tasks separate. As the title of your post indicates, "daily processing" means you have to do it daily or else the backlog will start to make your system unreliable. By making "in-to-empty" a priority each day (two days at the most), I know I can ignore the in-box until the next morning without worry. But if you let it slide for 3 or 4 days, you start having to think about what is sitting in the in-box.

I find that early morning (right after I wake up) is the best time for me to process whatever has landed in my in-box during the last 24 hours. It really doesn't take long if you are dealing with only 1 day's worth of stuff. I have to look at my calendar to plan my day anyway, so quickly processing items is not a big burden.