ForumsQuestionsSeeking advice for using contexts

Seeking advice for using contexts
korey99

Posted: Jun 09, 2015
Score: 0 Reference
Hello all-

I've been using Toodledo for many years, but I've accumulated a lot of tasks and haven't been terribly effective at using my to-do list system to figure out what I should or could be doing next.

Right now, I'm using folders mostly as rough categories (Inbox, Work, Scouts, Music, Finances, Video Projects, etc.)
I'm trying to use contexts to figure out what it's possible to work on in any given situation. However, I have a innate need to categorize things, and I have lots of tasks that aren't fitting into my current contexts well. So far I have @home, @work, @phone (I can do anywhere I have my phone), @pc (I need to be in front of my computer), @out (like errands, not at home), @outside (my property, but out in the yard/garage).

I'm looking for advice as to whether I've written these tasks poorly (not actionable), or whether there are some other useful contexts I could add. I just found myself getting stuck, as it wasn't as easy categorizing by context as I had hoped. I was wanting this process to be quick an simple, not over-analyzed :) Any suggestions welcome! Here are a few troublesome examples:

* Plan kayaking trip (requires discussing with my wife, probably at home, talking to friends/family, and booking via phone or PC)
* Find new drill bits (I could buy them online from my phone, or get them out shopping, so either @out or @phone)
* Get checks from Randy (I could stop by his house, call him, or he could bring them to me)
* Scan sister's photos (which may be a bad task, because I need to arrange a time with her, then do the actual work)

Other tricky things are that some contexts are wholly inclusive of others. When I'm home, I'll be able to do anything in @home, @phone, @pc, etc. I've used saved searches to show any task in any of those categories to tell me what's possible at home.