ForumsQuestionsViewing subtasks w Parent; star 4 Parent or other functions?

Viewing subtasks w Parent; star 4 Parent or other functions?
lite1

Posted: May 28, 2009
Score: 1 Reference
I'm new to TD and am gradually adopting some (probably not all GTD principles). I know that Vin Thomas uses Stars for all Parent level tasks and that others think this is a good idea. I'm not yet sold on it, so welcome your thoughts on the following.

I work online only (not mobile) and am at this point almost always in Folder view and am Pro subscriber. I use Folders for major life areas - not for "Projects". Most often I like to see a subtask in the "context" of its parent so I can focus on the over-arching goal implied in that Parent-name. I "hate" it when I choose a sort method that pulls out subtasks from their Parent; and this happens far too often. The only way I have found to get the view I want is to use the "toggle subtasks" choice - this seems to override some of the sort criteria, but at the very least it gives me the nesting I want. Are there Sort choices for criteria 1, 2, and 3 that keep subtasks nested?

I have been reluctant to dedicate the Star to something like Parent task as it is a powerful tool and if there are other ways to make Parent tasks float to the top I'll probably settle on that. For the time being, I am doing two things with my Parent tasks: 1) I always start them with a "+" sign; this seems to get them to the top alphabetically; and if I ever encounter them naked I know that they are a parent with additional (plus) things somewhere. 2) I also type in all caps. My own way of having them stand out a bit more. Are there any pitfalls in this approach? If there aren't many drawbacks, then this would allow me to use Star to quickly tweak the importance of something; or to use Star as an easy way to choose a number of diverse tasks/subtask for a search and multi-edit process.