ForumsQuestionsProject management

Project management
ginny_2

Posted: Dec 04, 2015
Score: 0 Reference
HI there, I'm new to Toodledo. What's the best way of managing a project using it?
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Dec 04, 2015
The beauty of Toodledo is that there is no one best way to use it. Your best way will be different from my best way. I encourage you to experiment with different fields and settings to find what works for you. Our help section will explain how the individual features work, and if you have more specific questions, please ask here or via a private support ticket if you prefer.
Salgud

Posted: Dec 07, 2015
Posted by ginny_2:
HI there, I'm new to Toodledo. What's the best way of managing a project using it?

I agree with Jake that there is no "right" way of managing projects in TD and that there are many ways. One common way is to use Folders as projects, parent tasks as subheadings under projects, and subtasks as your working level tasks. Unfortunately, this limits us to 3 levels within a project, which is often not nearly enough. Then we have to get more creative with the resources at hand. For most, there are fields available in TD that we aren't using for their "intended" purpose. This might be Contexts, Tags, Priority, etc. By breaking away from our expectations of using these parameters as "expected", we can use them for anything, including projects, we desire. For example, I don't use Contexts as they are originally intended. They were originally intended to be used in a GTD sense, based on resources available/needed for doing a particular task, such as computer, phone, office, etc. Some would argue these distinctions are antiquated given the availability of phones and computers virtually anywhere we go. In any case, I use Contexts as people I work with, since I do work for so many different people, so Context just tells me who I'm doing a particular task for.