ForumsQuestionsBooklet printing in Asian character

Booklet printing in Asian character
kenbeyond

Posted: Jun 25, 2008
Score: 3 Reference
Hi
I am a pro user of toodledo,from China.Toodledo is really easy to use.

I have a problem with the booklet feature.All the chinese characters in the booklet pdf file become question marks.I guess this is due to the character encoding issue in the database.Do you use the western(ISO-8859-1) or the Unicode(UTF-8)?

By the way,there are also question marks in the google calendar through the output ical.

I do love the booklet feature.

Maybe the non english character users are minorities here,but I do hope the developer team would pay attention to this problem.

This message was edited Jun 25, 2008.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Jun 25, 2008
Score: 0 Reference
Yes, because of the software that we use to generate the PDF booklet, we cannot use Unicode characters. We are looking into alternatives that will allow us to provide better booklet printing for people who use non English characters.
r8

Posted: Aug 02, 2008
Posted by Toodledo:
Yes, because of the software that we use to generate the PDF booklet, we cannot use Unicode characters. We are looking into alternatives that will allow us to provide better booklet printing for people who use non English characters.

Hello.
I already wrote you about unicode problems, but it seems that I will not be fixed in nearest future :(

If you can't generate unicode PDF, can you at least fix iCal output?
Or add content type headers to emails you send?

You see, if I get garbled email, I can switch my browser or mail client to utf codepage. But when you send email without codepage information to sms gate it sends me garbled SMS. And I can't switch codepages on my phone. So I simply can't read SMS, that Toodledo sends me.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Aug 03, 2008