ForumsQuestionsnew user seeks advice on getting set up in a simple way

new user seeks advice on getting set up in a simple way
lady3jane

Posted: Nov 04, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
help! i am new to Toodledo but really like it. i have the upgraded account, if that would affect your suggestions at all.

i work in an IT dept and handle all things telephone, cell phone, and admininstrative.

we have a lot of offices and i work in the main office. offices can change as they are moved, closed, or opened new in an area.

i've tried to come up with some different ways to organize my thoughts about what i do and tried a few different setups of contexts and folders, but something doesn't seem right. i like the idea of tags, but i don't like that they don't turn into a list i can choose from - i'm afraid i might forget one or use a different name or abbreviation for an office or whatever.

so here is what i have come up as an overview of things i do:

- Telephones:
Systems - i coordinate service between vendors and offices for hardware issues or voicemail issues that i cannot fix remotely. i coordinate installations of new equipment and office moves or additions to the way offices are wired.

Service - i place service calls to carriers when notified of issues on the line by the office, for both local and long distance. i also coordinate/request moves, adds, and changes to services and lines.

- Cell phones: I handle our cell phone account, meaning all new lines, transfers in or out, upgrades, billing etc. It's not too complicated.

- Info updates: It also my job to keep several spreadsheets and a database updated with various info. (some of it is redundant, but i can't help that!)
- staff directory in our email client
- internal staff database
- internal office info database (info like service providers, location, equip info)
- spreadsheets in which in enter a majority of info from our monthly invoices for long distance and cell service in order to track expenses