ForumsQuestionsCloning tasks and subtasks

Cloning tasks and subtasks
paul.freeman

Posted: Jan 15, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
Has something changed with the cloning of tasks with subtasks?

I have a number of templates set up which I use to clone "projects"

Until recently, a parent task with 4 subtasks could be cloned and all subtasks would appear under the clone.

Now, only the first subtask is cloned along with the parent.

Can anyone else reproduce this ?
matthias_5

I have the same problem.

Yesterday i cloned a task; and all works fine.

Now the same task with subtasks will not cloned, only the first subtask.

The clone-feature ist realy impotant for me... please have a look.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Thanks for reporting this bug. It has been fixed.
paul.freeman

Excellent, thanks
dale

COPYING OF AN ENTIRE FOLDER TO CREATE NEW FOLDER
I am a web developer / prject manage and we have a large set of stages and tasks for each web design project. I have created about 80 tasks in toodledo as atemplat and some with subtasks and then used the notes to put further information on each stage.

I would dearly love to be able to copy an entire folder and give it a new name to start a new project.

I cant use CSV import and export becuase subtasks wont hold in their order

To clone a master task 85 times for each projects would take too long

The only though I have at the moment is to try and export the entire task list as an XML. Remove all the tasks that are in a different folder to the webdevelopment template folder. Do a replace all on the the folder name and try and reimport the XML.

But editing the XML with so many folders in it will be a nightmare for me. I am not a programmer per se.

Can we Export and XML of just one set of FOLDER tasks so I can then use a replace all on the text file for the folder parameter and reimport (ie. Change project name 1 to project name 2). WOuld there be any other issues like the id number being replicated.