ForumsQuestionsFirst time setup of Toodledo features -- need help starting

First time setup of Toodledo features -- need help starting
juanantoniod

Posted: Jul 26, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
>>>It should say "fields", not "features". <<<

Hello Everyone,

I am new here, so forgive me if this has not already been covered, but I am new to Toodledo, and trying to figure out how to configure all of the different option fields, such as Star, Tag, Context, and Folder.

To give you a little background on me, I am a longtime Franklin Covey (FC) user, so I am accustomed to ABC/123 lists, but am willing to adapt to a new style. In fact, Toodledo's "Importance" feature looks like an awesome tool! (Is there a way to customize it, or assign the Importance to a task manually?)

I know a _little_ about GTD, but am not really clear what the differences are between its use of Contextx, Folders, and Tags, but I am willing to learn.

Because of my FC background, my tasks are values, goals and roles driven. What I need to know is how to "map" these to the Toodledo system.

I know that I can use Goals in Toodledo, so that takes care of that. Then there are things like roles of Brother, Son, Friend, Partner, Student, that must be put somewhere. Additionally, I also have fields such as: Focus, Calls, Computer, iPhone, Errands, Active Learner, and Personal Care. I also want to have a "system" for sorting on the word, "Buy", if possible, for creating a shopping list.

I am accustomed to having a Prioritized Daily Task List, so using the Hotlist and Starred items will contribute to this list. But, I also have what is called (in FC) the "Master Task List". This lists tasks that are needing to be done, but do not have a definite date. It's kind of like the Someday/Maybe in GTD, but is a little bit more definite. These are tasks, that, in an _ideal world_ WOULD GET DONE. NOT task that are just being _considered_, as "someday/maybe" implies.