ForumsQuestionsReminders: what's the best way?

Reminders: what's the best way?
Mark Ottaway

Posted: Aug 14, 2010
Score: 0 Reference
I've been using PIMs, Smartphones and GTDs for many years but am new to both iPhone and Toodledo after a recent upgrade to iPhone 4. A newbie question to this forum as I'm sure there are heaps of you out there who have this completely sussed.

I still struggle to use iPhone/Toodledo/calendar usefully compared to what I've been used to with WinMo, Android, Palm. The main problem is that reminders for events (To Dos, calendar items, etc) appear once and once only. With no ability to snooze and with the next reminder wiping out the last one if you haven't noticed it, I keep missing things when I am away from my laptop and relying solely on my iPhone for reminders.

People have always thought I'm amazingly well organised and have a great memory ... now I'm being exposed for what I am as it was always my technology that made me appear that way! :)

I'm sure this is very resolvable, so I'm curious how the experienced Toodledo/iPhone folk on this forum manage those issues. What tricks do you have for:

1. Handling reminders that appear at an inconvenient time - e.g. in a meeting. I.e. something that needs to be reminded again in say an hour?

2. Handling multiple reminders that mean earlier ones get lost when you're relying on push notifications?

3. Using Toodledo generally to ensure you don't miss things?

Would really appreciate your insights!

Cheers,
Mark
PeterW 

Posted: Aug 15, 2010
Hi Mark.

I've been using iPhone for almost a year now but prior to that was in the same boat as you, having used WinMo devices for a number of years and various PIMs on the PC.