ForumsQuestionsSubtasks levels

Subtasks levels
ameer.email

Posted: Mar 08, 2011
Score: 0 Reference
Hi,

A question was asked in 2009 regarding the number of levels you can have of subtasks, the answer was one.

Has this changed ? I would like to upgrade my account but I absolutely need multi-level subtasks because my projects often have sub-projects that routinely change.

I'm a former Pro Remember The Milk user, looking for alternatives that better suit the following needs:

1) Well designed web interface
2) Native iPhone app with full functionality of web interface
3) multi-level subtasks/hierarchies
4) Google Calendar integration

I've tested almost everything out there, Toodledo is the only one that comes close to achieving these things. Thought I must say that Checkvist has a nicer and quicker interface, I like that the fonts are large and the interface minimal.

This message was edited Mar 08, 2011.
Salgud

Score: -1 Reference
Still only one level of subtasks. I think I saw a post from the developer saying there is no intent to add more - that's the pervue of Project Management software, and I agree. YMMV.
ameer.email

I read that they may add one more level in the future.

I don't understand why it's difficult, Checkvist has what seems an infinite number of levels. Then again Toodledo is much more powerful and probably more complex. It would really be great to have multiple levels.

I've tried to follow proper GTD procedures/theory with RTM and found that just managing the list became a large burden and just wasn't intuitive. I use the lists to include short term daily tasks but also long term objectives like (complete project by deadline xyz). This helps me see the big picture and the details at once.

Here's an example of how I'd use multiple levels of tasks:
---------------
Project 1
--Software 1
----Bugs
------Bug 1
------Bug 2
----Features
------Feature 1
------Feature 2
----User Testing (this is to store notes)
------Test 1
------Test 2
----Software 2