ForumsDevelopersInvalid signature - but not really?

Invalid signature - but not really?
gojensen

Posted: Feb 01, 2012
Score: 1 Reference
Hi, I'm just getting started looking into this API stuff for toodledo. And right off the bat I run into problems :)

I can't seem to authenticate, it says invalid signature (error 9)... even though I'm almost 100% sure it's not invalid.

I have my API2 app registered, I have it's AppID (letters only) and it's Token (numbers and letters that start with api...)

I'm then trying to authenticate and get a session token. From your docs I simply use the included signature calculator to generate my signature.

For userid I enter the userid of my account (td...something).
For App Token I enter the Token of my app (api...something).

I then get a md5 hash (04f2e07dc15264cafe6edcaf3ec7ba20). Just to verify I tried to simply do a URL request in my browser...

http://api.toodledo.com/2/account/token.php?userid=tdsomething;appid=MyAppID;sig=04f2e07dc15264cafe6 edcaf3ec7ba20

And I get the error 9 in return:
{"errorCode":9,"errorDesc":"Invalid Signature"}

I'm almost sure this shouldn't happen, and I'm not quite sure where to proceed :) I also verified that the sig is "correct" by using md5hashgenerator.com to make a hash of "userid"+"apptoken".

I also tried the "Account Lookup" supplying my users registered email and password with the sig and appid, but with the same results... :/
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Feb 01, 2012
On our API documentation page, there is a form where you can enter your userid and appid and we will generate a signature for you. Does this match what you are generating in your code?

http://api.toodledo.com/2/account/index.php

This message was edited Feb 01, 2012.
gojensen

Posted: Feb 03, 2012
Score: -1 Reference