ForumsDevelopersAPI Excessive usage questions

API Excessive usage questions
benny

Posted: Apr 16, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
I'm a recent Pro account holder and convert from another task webapp that will go nameless because I can't Remember it anymore...

I am playing with the API for some specific purposes. I have a need for two things that I have written against the other guys API - a summary report generator and a quick task add. The report generator accepts several parameters to allow me to specify a set of tasks - it's almost always used just once at the end of the week to generate a summary report of the tasks completed that week and their notes. Sometimes I use it to generated a current state report or something similar for a particular body of work. This report goes in my work diary as a record of how the work week went. The quick task add is a simple tool that has several fields on it and has a bunch of hotkeys for setting specific duedates (like today, tomorrow, etc...), specific contexts (implemented as tags with the other webapp but I use the Context field here) and a couple of other things. It allows me to use launchy to run it and by just typing a summary and hitting a key or two I can create a task and be on my merry way.