ForumsQuestionsProjects, Subtasks and Due Dates

Projects, Subtasks and Due Dates
uselessuser

Posted: Mar 23, 2011
Score: 0 Reference
Dear Internet,

I'm quite new to Toodledo, and I've only signed up here after using Appigo Todo on the iPod.
This program lists projects which have a due subtask under "today": Not just the item, but the full project with all its subtasks. Same for "tomorrow" and so on.
I've been trying to emulate this behavior with the Toodledo web interface. But no matter what, it always just lists the due subtask while the project itself disappears in the depth of the "no due date" list (I assign due dates to subtasks, not projects, but this wouldn't help either). What's worse, there doesn't seem to be an option to show which project the due task belongs to. So if I have two projects, each with, say, the subtask "buy tools" then I have no way of knowing what I'm supposed to buy.

Now you could say, be more clear in your task descriptions. But I'm typing a lot on the go, using my iPod, and I don't want to put the project name into the subtask every time. So my question is, is there an option I'm missing or is it simply not possible to list project items the way Appigo Todo does?

Best,
-- useless
PeterW 

Posted: Mar 23, 2011
Try this setting:
http://www.toodledo.com/account_edit.php?edit=19

--> Indented mode shows all subtasks nested, even if the parent shouldn't be visible.
uselessuser

Posted: Mar 24, 2011
Peter,

Thanks, I had already found this. What I don't like is that now the subtasks don't even show up under "today" when they're due, rather they are all listed under the project. But since the project itself has a later due date (or none) it will not be listed under "today" when in fact I should be doing something for it.
I find this rather inconsistent, or am I just too illiterate to understand the settings here?
PeterW 

Yes, projects are not handled very well.