ForumsQuestionsRollover incomplete tasks

Rollover incomplete tasks
Zane Hagy

Posted: Jul 03, 2011
Score: 0 Reference
Rather than them appearing overdue - is there an option/tool/magic trick to roll items over to the next day rather than have them appear overdue? I've been using Toodledo for 2 years and suddenly realized how much of my time I'm wasting due to this one piece. Running a couple hundred projects through the system, it works perfectly other than this.
JCarl

My understanding is that in due date you can actually type the words today or tommorow. Would this work
dannyw0011

I would say it all depends on how you view and use due dates. If your due date is truly for a task that is due on a certain date, it is only appropriate for it to show as overdue once that date passes.

However, if you use due dates as a method to pop certain tasks up periodically, I would suggest another method. I personally use the star feature to indicate tasks I want to do today. When I was using Outlook, I set up a category named "Today" to accomplish the same purpose. With Toodledo, I would probably use a "Today" tag if the star wasn't available.
Zane Hagy

Posted: Jul 04, 2011
Score: 1 Reference
Thank you both - we have hard dates for some items, where 'overdue' is appropriate. However, many are wishful thinking targets (100+/day depending upon what's going on) and 'TODAY' as a tag is a happy workaround. Also going to try typing in 'today' as JCarl mentioned just to see if it rolls.

Appreciate you both taking the time to reply.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Jul 05, 2011
You could also make the task an optional repeating task, which means that its due-date gets automatically moved forward even if you don't do it. For example, I have a weekly optional task for "clean my desk". If I don't do it, it just moves to the next week automatically instead of staying overdue.
saskia.x

Posted: Jul 07, 2011