ForumsQuestionsOfficial naming in TD: Using "clone" "copy" interchangeably

Official naming in TD: Using "clone" "copy" interchangeably
lite1

Posted: Jun 06, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
Love the recent feature addition but am bothered by what I believe is sloppy use of language by TD by using the words "clone" and "copy" almost interchangeably. Please correct me if I am misunderstanding things, and if this thread ends up adding confusion rather than the intended clarity - TD please delete entire thread. My apology in advance if I am wrong.

While I'm quite new to TD, it seems that a task (or subtask)can behave in either of these ways:

created by COPYING - a copy is a duplicate/snapshot of an already existing task/subtask. Once it is created it lives an independent life. Great for making templates so entry is speeded up. This is the new feature recently added (but TD refers to this as "clone this task" when you hover over the check box).

created by CLONING - a clone is a "special duplicate" of an already existing task/subtask. If you are viewing a clone and make edits to it, these edits simultaneously occur and are visible wherever else you might view the clone. Clones do NOT have independent lives. If you Star a task and then view Starred tasks in the Main View, you are viewing a CLONE.

For me the key is that the behavior - independent life versus identical life experience - of what is created is a function of where you do the creation. If I am on a task in my Work folder and use the hover over check box, what I create (by COPYING) is a "copy. If I do the same thing for a task that I am viewing in the Starred tab of Main View, it is slightly harder to put in words: