ForumsQuestionsMy Due Date/Real due date

My Due Date/Real due date
taxes_1385259462

Posted: Jul 02, 2018
Score: 0 Reference
I'd like to suggest a new feature: real due date vs my due date. As an accountant I have a lot of due dates dictated by outside forces like the IRS. To manage my work flow and stay out of constant last-minute stress, I have internal dues, which can slip if needed. I would find it useful to have the "real" due date in a column separate from my internal due date. That way I can filter by things I want to have done by today versus things that MUST be done by today.

Thanks.
Jake

Toodledo Founder
Posted: Jul 03, 2018
Maybe try using the "start-date" column for your own internal due-date.
martingchapman

Posted: Jul 03, 2018
Your suggestion has merit, but would need some development by TD and also uses an extra column in the display.
Nothing wrong with that but it may take some time.

Here is an alternative approach which I have used for many years.

I have "Real" due dates, I call these "Deadlines" and "Internal" due dates which I call "Do/Postpone" dates.

To separate them I use Priorities.

Real (Deadline) due dates = Priority 1 (P1) - MUST be done by the due date.
Internal (Do/Postpone) due dates - Priority 2 (P2) - DO them by the due date or POSTPONE them to a later date

I then have a saved search that delivers all P1 and P2 tasks that are due, sorted by Due Date and ordered by Priority.

This shows my tasks separated by Due Date and in each section presents the P1 (Real) tasks first and P2 (Internal) tasks second.

This approach works now, no development needed and saves using an extra column

Or, you could have a saved search that only shows P1 tasks that are due and another saved search for P2 tasks.

Etc, etc, etc.

Hope this helps.
RMTrinity

Posted: Aug 03, 2018
Score: 1 Reference