ForumsQuestionsFor tickler tasks: Future Start Date vs. Due After?

For tickler tasks: Future Start Date vs. Due After?
Asheen

Posted: Nov 23, 2009
Score: 1 Reference
Hello,

I'm a bit new to Toodledo and the GTD methodology. I'm trying to find the best electronic implementation to the tickler file (which I have a physical version of, for hardcopy ticklers).

I see that in TD, I can create a task with either a future start date, or with a "due on/after" date. Both would mean that the task is filtered out with "hide future events" filter until a more appropriate time, which is what I want. What are the pros/cons to using either the start date or due on/after approach? They seem similar, but perhaps there are subtleties that make one or the other more appropriate in a given situation?

I'll give two examples to clarify what I'm looking for. First: I have a doctor's appointment, and have to remember to bring some paperwork to the appointment. I want to be reminded of that the day before, but not see the task until around then. Second: there's an interesting conference in Feb 2010 that I want to consider attending when I better know my schedule, say in January.

Not sure if this is the appropriate place to post this, or in Tips/Tricks or even GTD -- I'm hoping this community will let me know, in addition to your insights.

Thanks!
Asheen
Proximo

Posted: Nov 24, 2009
Score: 1 Reference
This is just my perspective.

A task with a Start Date is more of a reminder of when you need to start working on it. The same task can also have a due date.

In your example of the Doctors Appointment. You can set the Start date to remind you about the paperwork you need and it should also have a Due Date since it's an appointment you have on a particular date and time that can't be missed.

In your concert example, you will only need a Start Date to remind you about it but no Due Date is needed at that time. You have not decided it's something you can attend.