ForumsTips & TricksMy Trusted System

My Trusted System
Salgud

Posted: Apr 25, 2012
Score: 6 Reference
I've been using TD steadily now for almost 2 years. I hate to admit it's taken me this long to develop a "trusted" system. At least I can say I have worked on it only sporadically, and a couple of times, I thought I had it, only to find a serious flaw later. The key word here is "trusted". My biggest concern is that I can lose tasks in all of this and miss an important deadline. So I've spent a lot of time in the last 2 years looking for that "missing task", and, all to often, finding one. Not good.

I should mention that I'm not a GTDer, though I have borrowed from David Allen in some instances.

At one point, I had a pretty workable system, but it depended on my Starring my daily tasks out of long lists, a tedious and inefficient process at best. I wanted something more automatic, so I overhauled it yet again.

One of the keys came when someone posted their system, which included using "Next Actions" and Due Dates as a means to get tasks to automatically appear on my personal version of the Hotlist when they are due, or on their Start Date. This is especially helpful with repetitive tasks, of which I have quite a few. Now that I have my system working, they just "appear" on my Hotlist when they are due.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/546/tdhotlist.jpg/

The image above shows my Hotlist (not the same as TD's), which basically filters to Next Action or Top priority tasks whose Due Date or Start Date is before today. I use Start Dates very sparingly, only for tasks that I need to Start prior to the Due Date to get them done on time.

I pretty much "live" in the Saved Searches view, so I've recreated some of the canned views that already appear elsewhere to avoid having to leave Saved Searches. I have the screen space available in the left side menu area, so why not minimize having to go elsewhere in TD?