ForumsTips & TricksSuggestion: Contingent tasks

Suggestion: Contingent tasks
kathymacmillan

Posted: May 22, 2018
Score: 5 Reference
I have no idea how this would work from a technical standpoint, but from a user standpoint a feature that would be super useful to me is to be able to set up a task to be contingent upon the completion of another task. For example, as a writer, I might have separate tasks for "write chapter 1", "edit chapter 1", and "turn in chapter 1 to editor", but obviously I can't do the second and third until the first is completed. And I can make up due dates based on when I *hope* the first will get done, but it would be super cool if I could set up something where those other tasks don't appear on my to-do list *until* the first task is completed, and if they would automatically be assigned a due date or start date based on when the first task was done. I could see this be a super valuable feature for many different types of tasks, especially in multi-step projects.
Purveyor

Score: 0 Reference
Take a look at this topic: Making one task dependent on another.

In Linking Tasks by tasks that proceed another one, Jake says this:
We know that people really want task dependency so that tasks are automatically hidden if they are dependent on another task, and we do plan to build this. For me, it is much faster and more efficient to manage this manually with a weekly review that it would be to record all the complex inter-relationships between all my tasks.

This message was edited May 22, 2018.
cj

Score: 1 Reference
Posted by Purveyor:
Take a look at this topic: Making one task dependent on another.

In Linking Tasks by tasks that proceed another one, Jake says this: