ForumsGetting Things Done®Suggestions wanted for handling subtasks of Projects

Suggestions wanted for handling subtasks of Projects
russbuchmann

Posted: Apr 05, 2012
Score: 1 Reference
After searching the forums I have decided to get direct feedback...

How to handle Projects and subtasks the GTD way (or close to it).

So I am new to Toodledo (and love it) and somewhat new to GTD as well, but I understand most of the basics. I guess for this to be efficient, I should give you a rough layout of how I have Toodledo setup (similar to Proximo's setup, etc)

CONTEXTS:
-Work
-Home
-Phone
-Errands

FOLDERS
-Actions
-Projects
-Waiting
-Follow-up
-Ticklers
-Someday
-No Folder

Basically I "STAR" any task/action I want to be a "Next Action" and use custom searches to filter things as needed.

Right now if I have a Project, I do the following:

1. Create a Parent Task with the project name (Let's say "Store Billboard")
2. Next, I create the subtasks (potential sub-actions) that I anticipate for that project at the time of adding the project task. Each subtask has a project name prefix for easier identification like others have recommended. I am not sure if it is good/appropriate to create these in advance, but it helps me to feel more organized and put the steps down in advance.

Let's say we have something like:

>Store Billboard (Project)
>>>BILLB: Email buyers about content/message for billboard
>>>BILLB: Send quote request to installers
>>>BILLB: Gather needed artwork
>>>BILLB: Layout billboard draft
>>>BILLB: Email draft to owners for review
>>>BILLB: Make required changes
>>>BILLB: Email final draft to owners for approval
>>>BILLB: Send artwork to installers

3. The way I have Toodledo setup, those subtasks inherit the context and folder (and other attributes) of my parent task/project. So in this case, they would all have a context of 'Work" and a folder of "Projects" right off the bat unless I change something...THIS IS WHERE I GET CONFUSED WITH GTD...