ForumsGetting Things Done®When do you define "next action #2"?

When do you define "next action #2"?
gwendolynrose

Posted: May 31, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
Hi,

I am new to Toodledo, and am thrilled to find such a great online task mangager!

I have a GTD question that I cannot figure out. When you finish a "next action," do you immediately stop what you are doing to put the new next action on your n/a list? Do you just wait until your weekly review?

For example: If pretend you are planning a birthday party, there will be many next actions involved. Using GTD, you would NOT make a list of all of them at once. Instead, you would identify "Have birthday party for John" as the project, and "Call John to select date for party" as next action #1. After I mark "Call John" as a completed task, then what?

Sometimes it is not practical or possible to stop everything to think about "what is the very next physical action, now that I have called John?" However, if I do not immediately replace "Call John" with another next action, I may not do so until my weekly review several days later. (Meanwhile, I could have been doing more "next actions.") Do you review your completed tasks as part of your daily "processing" to remind you to create new next steps? (I like to delete/hide my completed tasks to get rid of the clutter on my computer screen....so I won't necessarily see them after marking them as "complete.")

I know this is a simplistic example, but you get the idea. I find myself thinking about "next action #2" (which is not yet written in my next action list or in my master project list) which defeats the purpose of getting all off my mind.

Until I get proficient with GTD, I am following David Allen's suggestions literally. (I will then be better able to change them to suit my specific needs.) I don't think I've heard David Allen mention this specific issue.

Thanks in advance!
TheGriff_2

Posted: Jun 01, 2009
Score: 1 Reference