ForumsGetting Things Done®Overwhelming Toodledo list in trying to implement GTD

Overwhelming Toodledo list in trying to implement GTD
Lise46

Posted: Oct 15, 2017
Score: 1 Reference
I've been using Toodledo for several years. I've also being trying to implement some form of GTD for several years. Things I like and do reasonably well (or at least well enough):

Being able to think through what needs to be accomplished on a project and capture all the steps.
Being able to sort different tasks by where they fall in my life (marketing, inventory, staffing, household, personal, etc) (I own a small business, lots of hats)
Being able to keep track of repeating to-do items and including due dates for them.
Capturing long term ideas so that they don't disappear - and being able to review them to see if anything can float upward.

But the challenges I am having are outweighing the benefits and I find that I am not using Toodledo or GTD effectively - to the point of failing to look at Toodledo for days and missing deadlines.

Primarily:
1. The list is too big. I bring it up on my screen and I am overwhelmed. Even with things identified as Next Action, or Top Priority.
2. I can't rank items by a pure priority (1-2-3 etc) and often find myself going down a rabbit hole of adjusting Next Actions (things change, this is now waiting, that is now Next Action) or top priority or starring on and off. That can suck up a huge amount of time without payoff. Or to do that, I write down the top 10 items I need to do....and now I have an incomplete paper list
3. I can't quickly add items to my list when I am not at my laptop. So I write them down...and now I have an incomplete paper list.
4. Estimating time for each item is really useful - I've always done it. But seems to take me a lot of time to do it on TD.