ForumsGetting Things Done®Next Actions

Next Actions
peaston

Posted: Aug 12, 2008
Score: 0 Reference
How do you handle next actions? I'm new to Toodledo but have been following GTD for years. I'm trying to figure out how to set things up Projects and Next Actions.

I'll probably use tags to group tasks by projects and people. But that will get messy after a while. I really see projects as a higher level task and action items as sub-tasks. I would be nice to have sub-tasks.

But the bigger challenge, whether using Outlook, Palm, or paper has been how to deal with Next Actions. Generally, I just type all the actions in the project. Then I create the first next action. After I complete the action, I then create the next action, and so on, until the project is done. That's not efficient and so I rarely follow it strictly. I would love for an application that would pop up the next action on a project action list as soon as I complete its predecessor. Project management software (e.g., MS Project, OpenProj, Open Work Bench) does that but that is overkill and too time intensive to set up for daily use.

Pre-creating all next actions is messy and confusing if the application doesn't support task sequencing.

How have you GTD followers configured Toodledo to manage next actions (sequencing) without lot's of manual data-entry?
peaston

Oops. I see that Toodledo does offer a sub-task feature in the Pro version, which I'm not in the trial period of. But this looks just like a grouping function, which is helpful, but it has no sequencing.
vegheadjones

Score: 1 Reference
I use folders for projects, tasks for actions and the status of next action to denote the next action for each project. This method requires reviewing all tasks in a folder after a next action is completed to determine the next "next action" but I find that review to be highly useful in determining what to do next. I much prefer that to having to determine the sequence ahead of time.
Jon