ForumsTips & TricksMy Use of Contexts

My Use of Contexts
Torysch

Posted: Feb 24, 2012
Score: 0 Reference
I have three contexts: Skokie, Teddy, and School.
I am fourteen. My parents are divorced and I spend equal time with each of them- in two different houses. Some tasks can only be done at one house; in that circumstance I label its context as either 'Skokie' or 'Teddy.' But some tasks are generic in one of two ways. Some are generic because they have to do with school AND can be completed at either house; and some are just plain generic (ex. check for service hours email).

[Sorry for the rather poor explaining; I'm not very good at explaining in the first place and it's pretty late for me, so I'm tired.]

This message was edited Feb 24, 2012.
cabbage

Posted: Feb 26, 2012
Score: 1 Reference
I'm not sure how you intend to use your "School" folder. Is it for tasks you have to do at school, or for all the tasks relating to your school work?

One thing you could try is to add an "Anywhere" context. Then you can use the filters to show @Anywhere and either @Skokie or @Teddy.

Another idea is to add the words "sko" or "ted" to the end of the task names. That way you can do a search for all the tasks you can do in each location.

My final suggestion is to add duplicate tasks. Have a task that you can do in two contexts? Add it to both. If you forget to check it off on both, you will quickly realise the next time you scan the other context.

Hope that helps!
alexborne

Posted: Feb 28, 2012
Score: -1 Reference
multiple contexts for one tasks have been asked for on this forum a lot. I used tags as context for this purpose.
ChristianDiscer

Posted: Feb 29, 2012
I don't assign a context to tasks that can be done anywhere and/or at anytime (e.g. "No Context"). My assigned contexts are Work, Home, and Church. I normally view my tasks by "context."