ForumsGetting Things Done®Scott's GTD Setup

Scott's GTD Setup
sknipfing

Posted: Apr 20, 2010
Score: 3 Reference
Hi All,

I thought I would share how I use Toodledo and how it pertains to GTD. I am a big proponent of GTD and for years I used spreadsheet to track my tasks. These spreadsheets were custom made. I programmed them using VBA to make them more efficient to use. The problem I kept running into though was that they were stored in multiple locations (or contexts). So I had one at work, one on my laptop as I travel a lot at times, and one at home. Toodledo allows me to bring these all together without losing any off the functionality that I built up over the years in my spreadsheet. (Way to go Toodledo!)

So first a little background on how I've set things up and in subsequent posts, I will walk you all thru how I GTD and use Toodledo.

Folders: I use folders for major groupings. So I have folders for
[my current client] - I'm a consultant working in Tokyo, but live in NY
[my business partner]
[my company] - A lot of tax to do items are in here. Go figure…
[Home] - Projects, routine items, personal finance, kids sports schedules, etc
[Agendas] - Things I need to discuss with different people the next time we talk.
[Projects] - Anything that will require more than one step to complete. I also use the project name as a tag in the "to do" list.
[Job Search] - I'm always looking for my next client
[Birthdays] - Also anniversaries
[Vacation Ideas] - Got to have some fun
[Someday] - Maybe I'll get to these or maybe not

From these folders I can derive some contexts though some will cross between folders. Contexts I have defined are
[Work] - For while I am in the office
[Home] - For while I am at home
[Calls] - These could be while I am anywhere. Have phone will travel. I thought about dividing these up further, but for now they are all together.
[Errands] - While I am traveling by car.