ForumsQuestionsResort tasks on changes and add a subtask feature

Resort tasks on changes and add a subtask feature
Michael

Posted: May 12, 2009
Score: 0 Reference
Ok, I am new here, so forgive me if I am missing something simple here but there are two things that are driving me crazy about the UI and both seem like they could be easily fixed:

First is that the list does not resort itself as you do changes (either in UI or elsewhere (another browser, iPhone, etc)) - you have to keep refreshing the page. Seems like it should be easy to do client-side in JS and lessen the load on the servers from having to refresh the page all the time. Is there a setting I am missing?

Second is - I am a pro subscriber, mostly for the sub-tasks/projects feature. However I can't seem to find any way to add sub-tasks directly without having to first enter a task and then drag it over another task. That seems downright silly and a lot of useless busywork and it makes me think I am missing something. I would love to have "Parent task" selection added to standard "add task" or "add mutiple tasks" dialogs(especially to "add multiple tasks"!!!) - and then have a button, maybe next to "add note", to do "add subtask" which pre-populates the "Parent task" with right task.

Thanks

-M
kleerkoat

There was a pretty lengthy discussion about the First one you brought up. I myself would like it to behave the same as you describe.

I don't quite remember exactly what the devs said about auto-updating when you change a value, but I do seem to remember that they mentioned that the majority of the users login to toodledo throughout the day, they enter a task and close toodledo, they open it for a few minutes and close it, I guess the reasoning was if people in general are always opening and closing toodledo they generally don't have a problem.

I use Prism in firefox to make toodledo like a standalone application, so mine is always up and I am constantly in their changing things.